North West Open Amateur Snooker Championship

The Pontins Cup
The Pontins Cup

The history of the event

This tournament has been contested since 1964 when The Pontins Cup was presented to the Lancashire Billiards and Snooker Association by Frederick Pontin. The first winner was Jimmy Heaton of Westhoughton and the runner-up was George Scott of Liverpool.

This competition is one of the most, if not the most, prestigious competitions in the North West of England. To be crowned the North West Open Champion is certainly something to be proud of.

The names on the winners band of this magnificent trophy include John Spencer and John Virgo. The trophy itself is housed in the Heritage Museum at Thurstons in Liverpool.

Who will be next on the winners list?

In 2019 there will be two qualifying events – one in Lancaster and one in Liverpool. There will be 8 qualifiers from each event who will go through to the Grand Finals.

The 2019 North West Open Grand Finals will be in Liverpool at the George Scott Snooker Club on Sun 7th April.

As the competition grows, in future years we hope to stage more qualifying events across the North West.