The 2023 North West Amateur Snooker Championship – The Last 16

8 players from the Preston qualifiers will join the 8 from Liverpool at the Stephen Hendry Snooker Club in Preston on Saturday 29 April.

Andy Williams, Emre Eves, Michael Wrigley, Marc Daugherty, Andy Rae, Dave Holcroft, Gaz Edwards and Jason Lawrence qualified from Preston.

Reigning champion John Whitty, who is aiming to win the title for a record fifth time, Simon Blackwell, Alex Millington, Ian Brumby, John Welsh, Josh Thomond, Mick McKeever and Bob McCune all qualified from the qualifying event at George Scotts in Liverpool.

Alex Millington’s break of 115 is the current highest break of the tournament.

North West Open 2022

Northwest Map

The Lancashire area qualifiers for this years North West Open will take place at the Stephen Hendry Snooker Club in Preston on Saturday 5 March.

The Liverpool area qualifiers will take place at George Scott’s on Sunday 3 April.

The last four players remaining from each qualifying event will go forward to the Grand Finals which will also be at George Scotts on Sunday 8 May.

All matches will be on a KO basis with all matches being Best of Five frames.

The draws will take place the weekend before each event.

All players will be notified of the draw and their scheduled match time as soon as possible after the draw.

There will be NO cash payments accepted on the day of the competition.

All entries should be received before the closing dates –

Lancashire: Friday 25 February at 9pm

Liverpool: Friday 25 March at 9pm


DRESS CODE: Smart Casual (No jeans /T-shirts/ trainers allowed.

Entry fee is £20

To enter: Please send Tony Cook a message via WhatsApp or SMS to 07850030916 – saying which event you would like to enter.

Please don’t call. Tony is likely to still be in America and either performing, travelling or sleeping!

Tony will contact you to advise you of the bank details

You may only enter one of the events!


We will be announcing details of an exciting new competition starting in September which will be called the North West Snooker Masters. We will also be bringing back the North West Junior Championship in June this year which will be for the Bob Tonge Trophy.

The 2020 North West Amateur Snooker Championship

The Pontins Cup

At long last we can get the 2020 event played!

Although we will have to miss out on 2021, at least this event can now be bought to a conclusion.

The finals will be played at The George Scott Snooker Club in Liverpool on Sunday 5 December starting at 10:00am.

Lancaster Qualifiers

1. Anthony Wall
2. James Silverwood
3. Ian Martin
4. Josh Corless
5. Mark Ainscough
6. Dave Holcroft
7. Kevin Harris
8. Steve Scott

Merseyside Qualifiers

1. Mark Richardson
2. John Welsh
3. Jamie Jones
4. Eddie Lott
5. Andrew Pennington
6. Brian Robertson
7. Adam Brown
8. Mikey Roberts

Please Note: The draw will be done on the day. Any player that arrives after 10am will be docked one frame and another frame for every subsequent 10 minutes.

Dress Code: Smart

The Prize Breakdown will be announced on the day.

Coronavirus Update


Unfortunately we have taken the decision that it would be unwise to continue with the Grand Final on 5 April.

The event will be held at a future date, possibly the end of May after Q School.


Due to Coronavirus we will have to monitor the situation in regards to North West Open Grand Finals on 5 April.

We have a duty of care to the players and we will make announcements as soon as possible if we need to postpone.

Draw for the Lancaster Qualifier

The Lancaster Qualifier for the NWBSA Open Amateur Snooker Championship 2020 will take place on Sunday 16 February at Squires Snooker Centre in Lancaster.

All Matches Best of 5
**Smart Dress Code**

Players in the Prelim Round matches M1 to M9 should be at the venue in time to start at 10:30am.
Matches M10 to M14 can start as soon as a table becomes available.

Prelim Round

10.30am Start
M1. J Tart v A Pearson
M2. J Silverwood v F Ajaib
M3. D Stephenson v I Martin
M4. P Govan v S Croft
M5. M Wilcock v J Snape
M6. M Nixon v W/O
M7. M Simm v D Hicks
M8. R Alston v W/O
M9. G Knowles v D McDonald

M10. M Ainscough v J Simpson
M11. A Stackhouse v D Holcroft
M12. P Burns v N Morris
M13. A Jeffers v W/O
M14. T Arnott v V Gemson

Round of 32 (approx Midday roll on/roll off )

Winner M1 v T Lamb
Winner M2 v S Blackwell
Winner M3 v M Cousins
Winner M4 v J Culligan
Winner M5 v J Corless
Mike Nixon v J Cassidy
Winner M7 v J Wibberley
R Alson v K Harris
Winner M9 v D Taylor
Winner M10 v J Purcell
Winner M11 v A Veitch
Winner M12 v J Mulholland
A Jeffers v Z McClelland
Winner M14 v D Wilcock
A Wall v M Salmon
T Whittaker v J Naylor

Players who reach the LAST EIGHT, will qualify for the Grand Finals on Sun 5th April in Liverpool